New York City Memes!

(Source: Kappit)
(Source: MemeSuper)
(Source: Kappit)

Hello New Yorkers! I picked three memes related to my website that I thought would put a comical spin on my topic. The first one is a meme of Mr. Beans making a ridiculous face. This meme focuses on how New York has a very specific smell, particularly one of trash and pollution. The second meme is of the popular internet sensation grumpy cat. It makes a joke about how Grumpy Cats litter box is cleaner than New York City because of all the pollution. The third meme might have to be my favorite. Donald Trump is clearly a popular topic of conversation lately and this meme is too funny to pass up on. It also relates to this website because it’s located in New York City.

One of the memetic concepts that makes these memes spreadable is cultural significance. These memes contain popular figures that are recognized in our American culture. They’re popular figures in our society and are easy to recognize to be able to understand the meme. It also is very spreadable because it uses things that New Yorkers can relate too. Everyone assumes that New York smells bad and how it is badly polluted. It’s relatable and something that people will be willing to share.

One company that uses Memes in their work is New York Magazine. They frequently use Memes in their articles to get their point across and make the post more relatable. One piece they recently did really caught my eye. They made a project where they picked out a meme for everyday of the year. They were extremely relevant to current events and really recapped what was going on all year.

The memes I chose were outside of promotional work and were based upon user- made content. I picked very light hearted memes that were meant to give my audience a good laugh. I wanted them to be relatable to the topic of New York City while also being funny.

Leave a comment